Defying Gravity

Most little boys spend their playtime with a towel tied around their neck, jumping off of beds, pretending to be Superman.  Not me.  I was jumping off of the bed alright, but instead a towel to power my flight….it was Mama’s favorite kitchen broom wedged between my thighs and me pretending to be Samantha from Bewitched.

I believe that we are all born with a desire to fly.  We hunger for that one on one encounter with breezes and clouds.  We hunger for fellowship with bluebirds and falcons and even crows. We lust for the feeling of wind underneath us, guiding us higher and higher into the unending sky.

I love to dance with the wind.  I love to feel the breeze against my face as I jump and twirl into the midst of a breath of a cyclone.  I chase after anything that will make my desire to fly a reality. I have to admit….when I am home alone, I still love to break out my besom, straddle it, and leap off the sofa while playing, “Defying Gravity” from Wicked

Air Magick to me is about freedom.  I love to wear light, loose-fitting clothes and move effortlessly amongst the breeze.  I feel the power of the air when I watch birds in flight.  I love to stand out by the pond here at the condo and watch as cranes gracefully launch themselves into the air and then settle back down with the delicacy of a ballerina. 

Because of Air Magick, I have often felt an affinity with birds.  I love the owl.  We have had many baby owls come to the clinic I work in.  It takes so much discipline for me to deposit them into the hands of those better equipped to nurse them back to health.  I also have a love of crows.  I know, most look at these creatures as scavengers, the rogue of bird-dom.  I see a very dapper animal.  I see an animal who for all purposes must be creative and sly while cavorting about.  I see alot of myself in this bird. 

People would call someone like myself a “Jack of All Trades and Master of None.”  I have walked through many lives encased in this life alone.  I have been a singer, a dancer, an actor, a model, a rodeo clown, a minister, a florist, a grocer, and an accountant.  My life has run the gamut.  It is not that I am not able to settle down, but the fact that I do not ever want to be an 80 year old man sitting in a rocking chair saying, “Oh, I wish I had.” I want to be that same old man sitting there cackling at the top of my lungs screeching, “Oh what a time I had!”

I went bungee jumping a few years ago.  Crazy?  Maybe.  It was so much fun!  I screamed the whole way down, but I have never felt so alive!  I fully intend to go skydiving before too long.  I will be scared to death, but I can’t wait to feel that exhilaration! 

The other day, I was on my way back to work after lunch.  I was feeling a bit down that day….not at all like myself.  I whispered to the breeze—“Lonely and sad is how I feel.  I hunger now to desparately feel, the freedom that flows with so much ease.  I long to dance with the whimsical breeze.”  At that moment, I saw it start over at the edge of the gate to the parking lot.  I saw a baby cyclone pick up a handful of leaves and dance toward me.  The next thing I know, I am swept up in the middle of it, laughing and dancing in the middle of a parking lot.  I felt like a child again.  I felt the freedom of whimsy envelope me. I envisioned myself as the witch from Oz caught in the middle of the cyclone and got even more tickled.  I imagined those ruby slippers being kicked off and me zooming through the wind.

Yes.  I defy gravity on a daily basis. I just close my eyes and leap.  I fly on a breeze of hope, joy, and pure unadulterated bliss.

2 thoughts on “Defying Gravity

Leave a Reply

