Magickal Things Sometimes Happen Through the Most Mundane

Something has struck me quite odd this year.  Normally as fall starts to set in, I find myself preparing for nesting or hibernation mode.  This year has been quite different.  As the leaves begin to fall and the wind picks up noticeably and there is a crispness in the air that hasn’t been there for quite a while…..I find myself energized.  I find myself motivated.  I find myself……at peace.

A dear friend of mine said earlier this week, “Be careful what you ask for.  You just might get it.”  He had been talking to the Goddess about prospering his business….we all had done magick on his behalf.  He saw it come to fruition.  You all know that over the past month or two that there have been a few challenges trying to circle their way around me.  I was seeking out Goddess for motivation, health, calming.  Again, as my friend said….”Be careful what you ask for.” 

Magickal things sometimes happen through the most mundane.  It was through my own doctor that motivation began.  It was either get healthy or….well, let’s just say that he gave me a long list of ‘what if’s.’  So, I set the goal of getting healthy.  It has been almost a month now and it seems almost effortless…but then again, I have done non-stop motivation magick, and I know that many friends have done the same.  I also did something that I never do….I ordered an outfit that I want in an XLarge to help me see where I want to be.  Maybe frivolous, but I feel it will be effective.

I use a lot of music in my magick.  How was I to know that was the key to calm.  Normally, when I am doing spellwork, I will sing over the cauldron or the fire.  I let my music float into the universe to accomplish the spells intent.  One afternoon at work, I felt my stress levels start to rise.  Softly, under my breath, I started humming…..nothing identifiable..just lilting music.  I found myself being soothed, calmed within minutes.  What do you know…..music really does soothe the savage beast.

Yesterday at work, I was allowed something that alludes most.  A client brought in a baby owl that had flown into her glass doors.  You could tell by looking at it that it was an immature bird, but this beautiful creature was by no means small.  Apparently, I am the only one in the clinic that is not afraid of birds, so I held it for the examination.  It was very obviously dazed.  The doctor determined there was no damage done, but we needed to feed it and call our wildlife rehabilitator.  I ran to the supermarket across the street and bought raw hamburger.  With strong leather gloves on, I was able to handfeed this magickal animal.  It ate heartily and I placed it in a toweled kennel for safekeeping until the rehabilitator came.  It was in this moment with this strong and beautiful creature that I was shown a glimpse into myself.

How many walls and windows have I hit over the past year?  How many times have I walked around dazed because something had overwhelmed me?  How many times have I walked away unscathed by something that could have completely destroyed me?  Too many times for recollection.  It is in those times that I must nourish my spirit…..seek out those energies that will invest in me and heal those deepest parts.  I know that it was magick that brought me into contact with this creature of the night.

The crispness in the air in the mornings has been calling me to the pond more and more.  I am beginning to see worn ground against Oak.  It faintly resembles the shape of a large behind.  Last night, I felt the need to unplug and just be.  I said goodnight to my friends on Facebook, left my cellphone behind charging and took a book into the courtyard to read.  As I sat on the outside sofa, I could hear my name being whispered in the breeze.  I knew it was my ‘Lady of the Lake’ calling to me.  I left my book behind and leisurely walked to her.  Friz was already in bed, so I walked down by myself.

It was pretty chilly last night so I had on my lightweight fleece jacket.  This couldn’t have been more appealing to my herd of cats.  Yes, Black and White cat has started bringing friends along.  There is now a tan, brown, and white cat that looks like the ragdoll breed and a seal point himalayan.  The other two are more tame than Black and White cat.  They came right up to me….and of course everyone wanted to snuggle in the fleece. 

I sat out under the waxing moon.  It is the perfect moon for success and health and friendships.  I whispered the names of those friends who came to mind and blessed the Lord and Lady for the gift of renewed health.  I called on the gift of Cat Magick that I was blessed with.  A trilogy of magick curled up on me, built new anticipation in me.

This morning was just like any other Saturday morning.  I was walking Friz and he immediately headed to the pond.  I think his spirit yearns for it as much as mine.  We settled in and here comes the herd.  Friz didn’t quite know what to do with all this cat energy, but he quickly settled in.  We listened in the distance to the crows.  It was if each caw was telling some  glorious ancient wisdom.  I dozed off as usual and was awakened abruptly by a man shaking my arm vigorously.  There were no cats around me. Friz was standing at attention.  At first, I was perturbed that my solitude was broken, but the man began to speak.

He told me that he had seen me out by the pond many times.  He said that he had seen me in my ‘cape’ and had thought that I was the Grim Reaper.  He told me that he had seen me in the dark and wondered if I was a messenger of death.  He had been scared to come near the pond.  But this morning, he saw me from a distance and said that he felt like he needed to come up to me.  He asked if I was an angel.  I tried really hard to stifle a snort and told him that I was really far from that.  He told me that there was something different about me and asked if I had mojo.  I found out a bit later that he was originally from New Orleans.  I told him that I was a worker of magick.  He laughed out loud and told me that he just knew it.  He sat out there with me and Friz for the rest of our time…..he told as we left and he pumped my hand up and down, “You can throw some of that Mojo at me anytime you want.” I told him I would.

Who would have ever guessed that in the midst of my solitude that Magick would have tapped me on the shoulder?  It just goes to show that we have to be prepared for the Magickal things no matter where we are and what we are doing.  Sometimes those things that seem to be the most bothersome…..an interruption, so to speak…..can be the most magickal things experienced.

Blessed Be!

6 thoughts on “Magickal Things Sometimes Happen Through the Most Mundane

  1. Aho, my brother. Your post resonate with me so strongly, I feel I’m with you in those magick moments at the pond.

Leave a Reply

