Do You Believe In Magick?

Today was a different kind of day for me.  I actually slept in.  Normally sleeping in for me is getting up at 7am with the dogs.  This morning, I got up, took the dogs out, went back to bed….and slept until 10am.  I know it was because I have been sick.  My body would be wide awake when the pups wake me and would not be able to go back to sleep.

When I finally woke up, I woke up with a strong, strange feeling.  I had an unspeakable joy rising up in me.  I felt as if my being a witch was the only thing that mattered in the world and the air around me positively shimmered.  I could feel the same type of energy coming from the cats and dogs.  I felt, honestly, that magickally, I could do anything.  There were no limits to the power inside me.  It isn’t that the symptoms of the sickness that I have been dealing with weren’t there….but it felt like it didn’t matter.  That I could overcome it…whether it be with spell or potion or whatever means of magick I could think of. 

My cat, Merlin, was in rare form.  He was particularly loveable this morning.  He curled up on my chest for a bit, purring louder than I have ever heard.  I watched him as he pounced down and leapt into the air…playfully batting at nothing (of course, we all know that he was playing with the fae).  I looked on this sight and laughed out loud.  ” I do love magick!”  I felt it fly out of my mouth with the strength and grace of a dragon.  Nothing else allows for the intent that I muster to be turned into something tangible and useable.  Magick is about everything that I can muster from deep inside myself…..it is everything around me…..it is energies and elements and everything in between.harry potter I love magic

Of course, as these feelings overtook me….I felt the call of the woods.  I wanted, however, to go to the local ‘witchy store.’  I got a gift card for Christmas and it was burning a hole in my pocket. LOL!  When I got to the ‘witchy store,’ though, there was a group of young men who were putting out a lot of weird, odd energy.  I heard them discussing that, in their opinions, witchcraft was satanic.  I quietly corrected them and told them that I was a witch and that I didn’t believe in satan.  They laughed strangely and moved to the other side of the store.  I picked up the tarot deck that I had gone for and left.  Once inside my car, I felt the need to cleanse and ground.  I felt like I had been slimed.  My dear friend, Maluna, told me to ‘shake it off….that I was more powerful than that.’ 

I got home and put on my cloak and headed to the woods.  I needed that grounding…that wonderful feeling I had earlier.  As I got closer to the woods, I could feel the presence of the Lord and Lady walking with me.  I could feel the wildness of the woods beckoning.  My spirit animals were almost dancing in anticipation of my arrival.  I watched that little blue chihuahua get rambunctious and I just knew that he was playing with the spirit of wolf and crow.  He was doing the little bounce thing that he does when he is playing with his sister.  I settled into the dirt and I felt the shiver of cold run up my back.  It was bitterly cold out there, but warmly welcoming.  I had to feel the dirt under my feet….if I had thought about it, I would have worn my moccasins.  I took my shoes off and dug my toes down into the dirt…..oh, what a feeling!!  I could feel the elements of earth and air joining with water and fire as I absorbed their energy.  The coolness of the dirt on my toes reminded me how refreshing my chosen path can be. 

Magick is something that was born into me…it grows stronger every day.  It is a part of me and I am a part of it.  With magick comes joy….but a huge amount of power and responsibility.  It took a long time for me to get to where I am and to become who I am.  I look back and some of it was hard….but I wouldn’t change a thing.  I am at a point now where the joy and the thrill of magick are very much a part of me….and a bit of bad energy will not throw me again.  I just need to remind myself time and time again:  I am more powerful than that. 

Blessed Be!

3 thoughts on “Do You Believe In Magick?

Leave a Reply

