Promises, Promises….

2013-03-24 13.31.03 HDR

For as wonderfully warm as last weekend was….this weekend was wet, dreary and cold.  Last week we welcomed in the Spring Equinox and the first day of Spring around here with a hailstorm on Monday and then flurries and sleet on Thursday, followed by umbrellas and jackets for this weekend.

Now I can promise you that I am right up there on top complaining about the cold and damp of winter and then beating that same dead horse in the summertime as sweltering temps and water shortages typically hit us.  My two favorites seasons are Fall and Spring here in the south, but with the way the weather has been over the past few years….the south seems to be going to a two season year…..Winter and Summer.   Last year, specifically we went from the cold and chill of Winter directly into the blistering heat that Summer has to offer.

Last night, I had gone to some friends house for a “card night.”  Since I am such a night owl, we left at about midnight…knowing that the dogs would need to go outside one more time before bed.  It was pouring rain the whole way home.  As we pulled into the condo parking lot, the rain let up for just a minute…long enough to jet inside, harness up the dogs, and do a quick pee run. 

Afterwards, as I tried to snuggle into bed, I heard thunder start to roll.  I knew what I was in for.  As much as thunder relaxes me, it scares the Bejeezus out of the cats.  I could hear the oldest trying to get one of the closet doors open on one end of the bedroom and watched as Merlin scurried under the bed.  As I tried to calm them and talk them through the storm, I could see the terror in their eyes.  They didn’t know what that noise was and they were sure it wasn’t a good thing for them.  Finally, I got the old girl to crawl under the covers with me and Merlin was lying across my throat…that is how we drifted off.

I got up fairly early with the dogs this morning and  went for my usual weekend morning walk.  Yesterday when I walked, I was thoroughly drenched.  I did that walk by myself.  That little blue chihuahua tends to like to just stand in the midst of the rain not moving.  This morning, though, I harnessed him up and we walked through the courtyard for a few minutes before venturing out.  I saw my hostas jutting up through the dirt uncompromisingly.  My foxglove stretched open as if to tell me that all she did was take a little nap and now she is ready to move out of winter.  The hydrangeas purposefully greened up even more, as if overnight.

2013-03-24 13.30.44

I remember, as a child, watching ‘Frosty’s Winter Wonderland’ with my grandma.  Parson Brown had to tell the children, Frosty and Jack Frost that winter couldn’t last forever.  He was talking about the seeds and bulbs.  He said, “Nature made them a promise…that someday they’d be pretty trees and flowers.  Could you imagine how you’d feel if someone broke such a promise to you?”   If you think about it, the oak tree is the promise Nature made to the acorn.  As I walked around this morning taking in all the promises looming in the ground, I was encouraged.   When we curse the snow, the cold and the rain, we forget that all that is necessary to create the Spring.  We get so frustrated when the weather…the seasons don’t go the way we planned it….but we forget that the Great Mother has had it all planned since the beginning of time.

We mourn a few frost bitten blooms when winter shows it last flash of teeth….”Oh my poor flowers…oh my poor tree…they were just starting to bud…now because of the cold snap the blooms will die.” Maybe there was a purpose in it….maybe those buds and blooms weren’t going to be strong enough to begin with.  We begrudge the Great Mother when she needs a little extra time to make things just so…but we don’t think a thing about burning or uprooting a grove or forest of trees for the sake of progress. 

I live in a concrete jungle.  I see green space disappear every day to make space for condos and businesses.  Goddess has given me a space here in the city that I can call my own and that I can help ‘green up.’  I am her human assistant in nurturing these plants and her helper in taking care of those outside critters.  It has now become second nature when I feel a chill in the air to set up stations for the outdoor animals…to make sure they have access to food.

2013-03-24 13.32.05 HDR

This morning, I decided to splurge a bit for breakfast.  I made pancakes.  I only had three medium sized ones myself, but as I ate them out in the courtyard with my cup of coffee, I could hear Mama Crow in the distance.  I walked out with one of the compote-free pancakes and crumbled it up and placed it down on the sidewalk in front of our condo.  Mama Crow does love her food.  She scouted around for a while….had to make sure it was ok to come down.  Then she comes down and prances back and forth on the sidewalk eye-balling the pancake. Then Boy-Howdy she ate that pancake up with such gusto….I laughed out loud.  She cawed at me real loud as if to say, “Hush your mouth, boy!” 

I walked back into the courtyard to finish my pseudo-coffee (decaf) and to read a bit.  I glanced at my witches grass and saw a spiral starting to peek out from the gravel beneath it.  I got to thinking about something.  The Great Mother made a promise to all those seeds and bulbs and plants….but she also made a promise to me.  There are things that have been growing and moving and swirling around the insides of me all winter long too….what happens to those?  Do I let other people discourage me and kill off those budding promises?  Do I let my own self doubts pluck the leaves of expectation off and throw them away?  Do I let the drought of my own fears wither away the blooming of things never before surfaced?

I don’t think so!  There is too much brewing inside of me to let it go to waste….just as I am sure that you too have way too much brewing to watch it wither.  This spring is going to be phenomenal!!!  When that final wisp of cold breath of winter is gone, the Great Mother is gonna have a field day….and you just watch what she is capable of!  Same with me…..you just stand back and watch….I am capable of so much more than even I imagined!

Blessed Be!Photo Jul 01, 7 05 22 PM

One thought on “Promises, Promises….

  1. You always carry me, and give me such joy in your early* springs……THAT gives me hope! Thank you for the lovely view! BB

Leave a Reply

