Making Your Own Magick

2013-10-20 15.33.30

 

I have so missed my walks this week.  A part of what wakes up the magick inside of me is getting to experience life away from four walls…but with dealing with whatever hellacious virus I have had this week, it has been hard to venture much farther than the walls of the courtyard.  As I tried to sneak off with Friz early this morning, my partner surprised me by snapping a picture of me just as we were about to escape.  This morning wasn’t about a backpack full of ritual items….it wasn’t about formality…it was just me, my dog, nature, and the Lord and Lady.

I think Friz was feeling cabin fever as much as I was.  He hates those times when either busy-ness or anything else keeps us from wandering in the early morning.  When he realized we were actually walking outside for more than a “pee trip,” he was pulling the leash with everything he had.  It was nice to feel the briskness in the air….almost a bite from the wind as we walked along.  The leaves were floating toward the ground in every direction we looked.  As I have said before, I love nothing more than to dance and play chase with the wind….she danced all around me this morning, inviting me to play.  I was still a bit weak, but Friz gladly answered that invitation.  He growled and chased and wiggled.

I took my staff with me this morning.  I am still getting a little winded as I walk….I figured a bit of magickal support wouldn’t hurt.  We got to a small patch of woods that we haven’t explored yet.  We could hear rustling in the leaves.  Friz felt the need to release that little “Buuff” so that anything would know how fierce he is.  I am sure that those squirrels, rabbits and chipmunks all ran for their lives….no matter, he was still being my protector.

As I sat under the trees, I remembered part of a conversation that I was having with a friend a few weeks ago.  We were talking about directing energy.  I have always had a more than vivid thought life…so visualizing energy has always come very easy to me.  I have no problem seeing the energy take forms and colors depending on what magick is being worked.  As I concentrated on all the full moon energy that was still lingering, I could feel a blue healing energy encompassing me.  I looked around and could see the energy of Crow and Wolf.  I could also see and feel the energy coming from a little blue chihuahua.  I lay back and relaxed into the comfort of that energy.

Today a friend of mine reminded me of something I have always known….”Magick is different for everyone…many ways of doing things, many beliefs….find one that suits you.  For all the wonderful teachings in the Craft…(and there are many) in the end….it’s about YOU.” “….This time of year is an excellent time to find YOURSELF.”  My response is that as I sift through the different parts of myself, this time of year, I find more and more of myself that I had forgotten….parts that have been scattered throughout the year.

I have always taken a simple approach to magick…I do what feels right for me.  If it doesn’t work right with my own intuition and spirit, then it isn’t the right magick for me.  I know that there are those that hold dear to their traditions… that’s fine and I do not belittle or undermine those traditions in the least, but I live the way that my grandma taught me.  “If you talk to the tree…listen, it will talk back.”  “If you ask the spirits for guidance, be prepared to be guided.”  I don’t have to hold my tongue just so….or spin in a circle in a particular way to get results.  When I do a spell,  I am prepared for all results and answers….just because I want something to happen a certain way doesn’t mean that it is the best fit for the universe or those around me.  In all the magick I do, though, I have to be willing to do the work.  I can’t expect things to happen if I am not willing to put in effort or intent…..that would be like doing magick for a new job and not putting my resume out there.  I can’t just sit on my ass and expect the elements or the gods and goddesses around me to do all the work.

2013-10-20 15.22.55

 

I have had a mandrake root…yes, the old fashioned kind like in Harry Potter…that I have been working with all summer.  I have been making sure all the conditions are perfect, just enough water..not too much, just the perfect number of hours of sunshine or light from a grow lamp.  All summer the pot sat there.  The soil was completely undisturbed…not one thing had changed.  My roommate came to me the day before the full moon this past week and said, “I don’t think your mandrake is alive.  I think the root is dead.  It just isn’t doing anything.”  I looked at him without missing a beat and said, “Maybe it just needs a little extra energy.  Sometimes we all need a little jump-start.”  I walked outside to the pot.  I watered it and talked to it….then I closed my eyes and envisioned a swirl of beautiful green glowing energy encircling the pot and plant.  I watched as the swirl of energy grew and climbed and pulsated….then I talked a little more to that root that I knew was just underneath that soil and then I went inside.  The day of the full moon, just after 4:00pm, I was going to lie down for a nap.  My roommate called me outside.  “Your mandrake is sprouting. I can actually see leaves.  What did you do?” I told him that I did exactly what I told him I was going to do…..I gave it a little extra energy…that jump-start.  So now, everyday, I give it a little extra energy…just for as long as it needs it.

If you have been doing the same thing over and over….expecting different results each time, maybe it’s time to mix things up a bit.  YOU are a magickal being…..rely on what’s inside of you.  YOU are capable of anything that the universe holds or offers….why do we feel the need to lock ourselves away in a tower and not allow ourselves to fly outside of it.  The only books the Ancients held were those they made themselves.

Think about what initially drew you to the Craft.  Take yourself back to that initial excitement….the feeling you had when you first encountered your spirit animal or familiar.  What did your first encounter with a god or goddess stir in you?  It’s all still there….maybe it’s time to break out the shovel and dig away the things that have buried some of those feelings or memories….or as my dear friend said “….sift through, experience the beauty, take your time, and have wonderful results.”

Blessed Be!

One thought on “Making Your Own Magick

  1. OOOOOO I loved this!!! You are always there for me…and I always feel that little nudge when I need it…..thank you wise one! This was just wonderful! Blessed be the mandrake! BB

Leave a Reply

