The Story Spell

The-Storyteller_Jim-Henson_featured
Last weekend, after I finished my blog, one of my Facebook friends posted what I thought was a profound comment on the Weathered Wiseman blog.  I asked him if it would be ok to post his comment on the Weathered Wiseman Facebook page and he agreed.  This led to a back and forth about magick and experiences.  He told me of a spell that he uses in his work with a shelter.  This moved me tremendously and led to something that I have wanted to do for a while.  Over the next few weeks, you will see posts by several trusted friends.  The only guideline I gave them is that it must be based on their experience and their magick.  Other than that, there are no holds barred.  I welcome you now to the experiences of my dear friend Daedalus.
Toward the end of our training my classmates and I were challenged to discover ways we could bring our skills and abilities out into the mundane world and use them “For the good of all, harming none”. What I learned thru the practical application of Magick is that the concepts of “good and evil” help and harm” are all relative and depend on perspective. Here is one example of how I use the skills and abilities I learned to help alleviate suffering in others.
fantasy-storybook-3d-wallpaper-1280x800
                                               The Story Spell
      I work in a local shelter helping homeless families find and keep housing in one of the larger cities in the state where I live. As part of my work I deal with issues such as developmental disabilities, mental health issues, as well as substance abuse issues in the folks who come to our door seeking shelter. Needless to say I have learned to practice detached and objective compassion while shielding and warding heavily for self care and protection. One of our alternate names for the family shelter is, “The drama factory”. I work the majority of the evening shifts when the guests return to the shelter after being out in the community all day. as a result I witness and have to defuse all kinds of “drama bombs”.
  When one of the guests come to me in crisis mode I first listen quietly. My job training tells me I must “model the behavior”. If I want them to calm down I have to present a calm and rational example for them to follow. My magickal training tells me that something has triggered their shadow self and before that entity can be put back to sleep it has to be able to dissipate some of the anger it holds centered on being awakened. I let them tell me their story while “listening between the lines” for what the triggers are that woke this particular beast. while they are spinning their story I soften my focus, fill the room with “safe energy” and wait for their shadow self to reveal itself. While I`m waiting I call on my guides for help and support. I also divide my attention in preparation to allow part of myself to leave my body both for safety and to allow myself to better practice the “detached compassion” that is key to the work I`m about to undertake. Part of me steps outside myself, joins my guides and we all watch me sitting there shifting in my seat, gesturing at appropriate moments, and answering with short simple replies if need be in order to keep the discharge of discordant energy actively  flowing. Once that energy is released my guides and I transform it into more “safe energy” while setting some of the transformed energy aside to be used later. My “second self” as well as my guides are all heavily cloaked at this point so the guest`s shadow self is not aware that it is being observed.
I will many times use a technique I learned when working with autistic adults who were in crisis. I sit beside the person talking rather than in front of them. I also avoid eye contact and minimize movement. I sit close enough so they know I am there if they need me yet not so close that they feel intimidated or in any way threatened. While I am sitting quietly I look at my hands and use my peripheral vision to monitor the guest, the entity driving them, and the flow and direction of the energy being released. At some point during their telling of their story/ release of discordant energy I usually take either a stone or a coin out my pocket. I find the small “watch pocket” just below the belt loops of most jeans work well for storage of these items. Retrieval requires far less shifting and digging around than pulling something from the bottom of a main pocket. I know a friend who also using a similar technique who keeps his “items of distraction” in a small leather “mojo bag” he wears around his neck. When I feel the person winding down I stare at the object in my hand as I listen and maybe begin to add some slow calming hand movement to the exchange to help distract them so they can detach themselves if they are looping back into the story. Before too long they have breathed in enough of the calming energy in the room to begin winding down. When they come to a stop my physical self asks them if they are done with their story and would like to be free of it. Sometimes they want to hang on to their anger for a bit longer for whatever reason. I tell them they can always come see me whenever they are done with it and want to move on.
MagicCoin
     If I have done a complete extraction and my guides and I have effectively transformed the energy in the room most times we can move to the second phase of the work at hand. At this point my physical self becomes a vehicle for a second story as either my Second Self (some would say Higher Self) or one of my guides steps forward to tell a simple story of transformation while I stare at the object in the palm of my hand as the story is being spun and the vision conjured. In effect we are spinning Glamour spell. The object in my hand is the bait and the story is what makes the object flash and shine enough to catch and hold the guest`s attention. While they are being entranced my guides and I take that calming energy we had set aside, concentrate it, and then send it out thru my heart, down my arm ,into my hand and out into the object. We aim to infuse the object with a concentrated burst of “perfect love and perfect trust” to be triggered as soon as contact is made.
  More often than not the glamour takes hold, the guest reaches out to touch the object in my hand and the energy is delivered. The delivery of that burst of energy will many times wake them from their trance and they`ll sit back in their seat with an apology for getting too close and/or touching my hand. Most don`t recall how they got that close in the first place.
  After they leave I do some breath work, clear myself and the room and prepare for the next crisis to arrive.
     I find this technique has allowed me to observe and experience aspects of the Shadow Self related to addiction and mental health that I never would have been able to otherwise work with. I hope some of you find this helpful and look forward to hearing how you tweak it, adjust it, and apply it in new ways as you make it your own. This, I believe, is how Magick builds, grows and moves us all thru this world, thru being shared as the “Work of Head, Heart and Hands”.
heart head hands
We are all powerful catalysts for change.
Be and Live Well,
Daedalus
3 thoughts on “The Story Spell

Leave a Reply

